CG-DECLARATION 2010

Declaration of conformity by United Internet AG with regard to the recommendations of the German Corporate Governance Code in accordance with Sec. 161 German Stock Corporation Act (AktG)
In accordance with Sec. 161 German Stock Corporation Act (AktG), the Management Board and Supervisory Board of United Internet AG declare that: 

United Internet AG complied with the recommendations of the German Corporate Governance Code (in the version dated June 18, 2009) with the following exceptions, and expects to comply in future with the following exceptions:

  • Deductibles in the case of D&O insurance policies (Codex 3.8)

    Since the German Act on the Appropriateness of Management Board Compensation (Gesetz zur Angemessenheit der Vorstandsvergütung - VorstAG) came into power, the German Stock Corporation Act (AktG) now requires that Management Board members accept an obligatory deductible for D&O insurance policies of at least 10% of the loss and up to at least one-and-a-half times the fixed annual compensation of the respective Management Board member (Sec. 93 AktG). Deductibles need not be agreed, however, for Supervisory Board members (Sec. 116 AktG). Beyond the scope of the AktG, the German Corporate Governance Code recommends that a similar deductible be agreed for the Supervisory Board in any D&O policy. 

    United Internet AG has fully adopted the legal requirements by amending the existing D&O insurance policies as of January 1, 2010 and has agreed its first deductible for members of the Management Board. No deductible was agreed for the Supervisory Board. United Internet does not generally believe that the motivation and responsibility with which the members of United Internet's Supervisory Board conduct their duties will be affected by such a deductible.

  • Committees (Code 5.3)

    The German Corporate Governance Code recommends that the Supervisory Board set up an Audit Committee which, in particular, should handle issues of accounting, risk management and compliance, the necessary independence required of the auditor, the issuing of the audit mandate to the auditor, the determination of auditing focal points and the fee agreement. In addition, the German Corporate Governance Code recommends that the Supervisory Board form a Nomination Committee composed exclusively of shareholder representatives, which proposes suitable candidates to the Supervisory Board for recommendation to the Annual Shareholders' Meeting. 

    The Supervisory Board of United Internet AG currently consists of three members: in addition to their other duties, the members also deal as a group with the above-mentioned topics. The Supervisory Board's rules of procedure state that committees should only be formed if there are more than three members.

  • Compensation of Supervisory Board members (Code 5.4.6)

    The German Corporate Governance Code recommends that the compensation of Supervisory Board members should also take into account the exercising of the Chair and Deputy Chair positions in the Supervisory Board as well as the chair and membership of committees.

    As long as the Supervisory Board consists of no more than three members and no committees are formed, United Internet only separately considers the Chair position in the Supervisory Board.

  • Publication of reports (Code 7.1.2)

    The German Corporate Governance Code recommends that interim reports are to be publicly accessible within 45 days of the end of the reporting period. 

    In fiscal year 2009, United Internet published its interim reports within the period recommended by the German Corporate Governance Code. As already announced in the Financial Calendar 2010, the half-year financial report 2010 will not be published until August 27, 2010 for organizational, internal reasons.

    Montabaur, March 2010

    For the Management Board
    Ralph Dommermuth

    For the Supervisory Board
    Kurt Dobitsch

CG-ERKLÄRUNGEN 2010

Erklärung nach § 161 AktG zur Beachtung der Empfehlungen des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex bei der United Internet AG 
Vorstand und Aufsichtrat der United Internet AG erklären gemäß § 161 Aktiengesetz: 

Die United Internet AG hat den Empfehlungen des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex in der Fassung vom 18. Juni 2009 bis auf folgende Ausnahmen entsprochen und wird diesen voraussichtlich auch weiterhin bis auf folgende Ausnahmen entsprechen:

  • Selbstbehalt bei D&O-Versicherungen (KODEX-ZIFFER 3.8)

    Nach Inkrafttreten des Gesetzes zur Angemessenheit der Vorstandsvergütung (VorstAG) sieht das Aktiengesetz (AktG) nun vor, dass Vorstände bei D&O-Versicherungen einen obligatorischen Selbstbehalt in Höhe von mindestens 10 % des Schadens bis mindestens zur 1,5-fachen Höhe des Jahresfestgehalts zu übernehmen haben (§93 AktG). Für Aufsichtsratsmitglieder hingegen muss kein Selbstbehalt vereinbart werden (§116 AktG). Der Deutsche Corporate Governance Kodex empfiehlt über das AktG hinaus, auch in einer D&O-Versicherung für den Aufsichtsrat einen entsprechenden Selbstbehalt zu vereinbaren. 

    Die United Internet AG hat die Vorgaben des Gesetzgebers mit der Änderung der bestehenden D&O-Versicherungsverträge zum 1. Januar 2010 vollständig umgesetzt und erstmalig einen Selbstbehalt für Vorstandsmitglieder vereinbart. Auf einen Selbstbehalt für die Aufsichtsratmitglieder wurde verzichtet. United Internet ist grundsätzlich nicht der Ansicht, dass sich Motivation und Verantwortung, mit der die Mitglieder des United-Internet-Aufsichtsrats ihre Aufgabe wahrnehmen, durch einen solchen Selbstbehalt ändern.

  • Ausschüsse (KODEX-ZIFFER 5.3)

    Der Deutsche Corporate Governance Kodex empfiehlt, dass der Aufsichtsrat einen Prüfungsausschuss (Audit Committee) einrichten soll, der sich insbesondere mit Fragen der Rechnungslegung, des Risikomanagements und der Compliance, der erforderlichen Unabhängigkeit des Abschlussprüfers, der Erteilung des Prüfungsauftrags an den Abschlussprüfer, der Bestimmung von Prüfungsschwerpunkten und der Honorarvereinbarung befasst. Der Deutsche Corporate Governance Kodex empfiehlt darüber hinaus, dass der Aufsichtsrat einen Nominierungsausschuss bildet, der ausschließlich mit Vertretern der Anteilseigner besetzt ist und dem Aufsichtsrat für dessen Wahlvorschläge an die Hauptversammlung geeignete Kandidaten vorschlägt. 

     

    Der Aufsichtsrat der United Internet AG besteht zurzeit aus drei Mitgliedern. Die Mitglieder befassen sich in ihrer Gesamtheit - neben ihren sonstigen Pflichten - auch mit den genannten Themen. Die Geschäftsordnung des Aufsichtsrates sieht vor, Ausschüsse erst bei mehr als drei Aufsichtsratsmitgliedern einzurichten.

  • Vergütung der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder (Kodex-Ziffer 5.4.6)

    Der Deutsche Corporate Governance Kodex empfiehlt, dass bei der Vergütung der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder der Vorsitz und der stellvertretende Vorsitz im Aufsichtsrat sowie der Vorsitz und die Mitgliedschaft in den Ausschüssen berücksichtigt werden. 

    Solange der Aufsichtsrat aus drei Mitgliedern besteht und keine Ausschüsse gebildet werden, berücksichtigt United Internet nur den Vorsitz des Aufsichtsrates gesondert.

  • Veröffentlichung der Berichte (KODEX-ZIFFER 7.1.2)

    Der Deutsche Corporate Governance Kodex empfiehlt, dass die Zwischenberichte binnen 45 Tage nach Ende des Berichtszeitraums öffentlich zugänglich sein sollen.

    United Internet hat ihre Zwischenberichte im Geschäftsjahr 2009 innerhalb des vom Deutsche Corporate Governance Kodex empfohlenen Zeitraums veröffentlicht. Der Halbjahresfinanzbericht 2010 wird - wie bereits vorab im Finanzkalender 2010 angekündigt - aus organisatorischen, innerbetrieblichen Gründen erst am 27. August 2010 veröffentlicht.

    Montabaur, im März 2010

    Für den Vorstand
    Ralph Dommermuth

    Für den Aufsichtsrat
    Kurt Dobitsch