CG-DECLARATION 2014

Declaration of conformity by United Internet AG with regard to the recommendations of the German Corporate Governance Code in accordance with Sec. 161 German Stock Corporation Act (AktG)
In accordance with Section 161 German Stock Corporation Act (AktG), the Management Board and Supervisory Board of United Internet AG declare that:

Since its last Declaration of Conformity issued on March 5, 2013 and until June 9, 2013, United Internet AG complied with the recommendations of the German Corporate Governance Code (the "Code") in the version dated May 15, 2012 (“Code 2012”) with the stated exceptions.

United Internet AG complied with the recommendations of the Code in the currently valid version dated May 13, 2013 (“Code 2013”) since it came into force on June 10, 2013, and plans to continue to comply with these recommendations with the following exceptions:

United Internet AG complied with the recommendations of the Code in the currently valid version dated May 13, 2013 (“Code 2013”) since it came into force on June 10, 2013, and plans to continue to comply with these recommendations with the following exceptions:

  • Deductibles in the case of D&O insurance policies for Supervisory Board members (section 3.8)

    The D&O insurance policy for Supervisory Board members does not include any deductible. United Internet does not generally believe that the motivation and responsibility with which the members of United Internet's Supervisory Board conduct their duties will be improved by such a deductible.

  • Vertical comparison when setting Management Board compensation (section 4.2.2)

    The Code 2013 restated its recommendation of a vertical comparison for compensation. When determining compensation, the Supervisory Board previously took comparisons with the Group’s most senior executives into account. The Code 2013 does not state to what extent the new recommendation calls on the Supervisory Board to make decisions and considerations in those cases where there are no changes to Management Board compensation agreements. As a matter of precaution, the Company therefore declares its deviation from this recommendation.

  • Capping Management Board compensation (section 4.2.3 (2) sentence 6)

    In contrast to the recommendations first made in the Code 2013, the agreements regarding Management Board compensation do not include any payment caps. As the Company cannot make unilateral amendments to compensation agreements, it has deviated from this Code recommendation since June 10, 2013.

    Although compensation agreements (service contracts and agreements on Stock Appreciation Rights) include caps for variable components, these are not expressed as a total but as a percentage of a fixed amount. The Code 2013 and its explanations do not clearly state whether such caps, expressed as a percentage of a fixed amount, are still in line with the Code’s recommendation. As a matter of precaution, the Company therefore declares its deviation from this recommendation.

  • Committees (section 5.3)

    The Supervisory Board has not formed any committees. The Supervisory Board of United Internet AG currently consists of three members and handles in full all tasks of a supervisory board, including the monitoring of the accounting process, the effectiveness of the internal control system, the risk management system and internal audit system, the audit of the Annual Financial Statements, and here in particular the independence of the auditor, the services rendered additionally by the auditor, the issuing of the audit mandate to the auditor, the determination of auditing focal points and the fee agreement, and issues of compliance. Under these circumstances, the Supervisory Board cannot recognize how the formation of committees would improve the efficiency of its work.

  • Targets for the composition of the Supervisory Board (section 5.4.1)

    The Supervisory Board has not specified any concrete objectives regarding its composition. The current members of the Supervisory Board have been elected for the period ending with the Annual Shareholders' Meeting which adopts the resolution to release the Supervisory Board members from their responsibility for fiscal year 2014. As specific candidate proposals for the Supervisory Board do not have to be made until its scheduled re-election at the Annual Shareholders' Meeting in 2015, it does not appear appropriate to already formulate concrete objectives today without knowing the possible changes in the regulatory environment or the Company's market conditions. The Supervisory Board will carefully monitor developments and make a timely decision before the scheduled re-election of the Supervisory Board regarding the Code's recommendations on concrete objectives and their implementation as part of the Supervisory Board's proposals to the Annual Shareholders' Meeting, as well as reporting.

  • Consideration of the Deputy Chair when setting compensation for Supervisory Board members (section 5.4.6 (1) sentence 2)

    When setting compensation for Supervisory Board members, the position of the Deputy Chair of the Supervisory Board is not considered. The Deputy Chair of the Supervisory Board does not currently undertake any additional duties which would represent a greater burden compared to those of a regular Supervisory Board member.

  • Performance-based compensation of Supervisory Board members to be aligned with sustainable corporate development (section 5.4.6 (2) sentence 2)

    The performance-related compensation of Supervisory Board members is possibly not fully oriented toward sustainable growth of the enterprise. As recommended by the Code, members of the Supervisory Board of United Internet AG receive both fixed and performance-based compensation. The performance-based compensation is connected with exceeding a threshold in terms of consolidated earnings per share in the fiscal year – fully in line with the Code until June 15, 2012. For the 2013 and following fiscal years, part of the variable compensation is measured in terms of the change in consolidated earnings per share in the given fiscal year compared with the status three years previously.

    United Internet AG regards a performance-based compensation component as appropriate if it is oriented to the actual reported earnings per share in the respective fiscal year, as is the case here. United Internet AG also believes that this system is oriented toward sustainable growth of the enterprise, as compensation is only paid if a result threshold is exceeded. Moreover, at least part of variable compensation for Supervisory Board members is oriented toward sustainable growth in the sense that it is calculated on a multi-year basis. As a consequence, the executive bodies identify no direct need to change the compensation scheme which was implemented in compliance with the Code – in the version valid until June 15, 2012. They will continue to observe and analyze developments in compensation schemes for supervisory board members, and propose a new compensation scheme if required.

  • Publication of reports (section 7.1.2 sentence 4)

    Due to organizational, internal reasons, United Internet only published its interim report for the first quarter of 2013 on May 21, 2013. For the same reasons – and as already announced in the Financial Calendar 2014 – United Internet will publish its interim report for the first quarter of 2014 on May 20, 2014 and its report for the first nine months of 2014 on November 18, 2014.

    Montabaur, March 5, 2014

    For the Management Board
    Ralph Dommermuth

    For the Supervisory Board
    Kurt Dobitsch

CG-ERKLÄRUNGEN 2014

Erklärung nach § 161 AktG zur Beachtung der Empfehlungen des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex bei der United Internet AG
Vorstand und Aufsichtrat der United Internet AG erklären gemäß § 161 Aktiengesetz:

Die United Internet AG hat den Empfehlungen des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex („Kodex“) in der Fassung vom 15. Mai 2012 („Kodex 2012“) seit der letzten Entsprechenserklärung vom 5. März 2013 mit den dort genannten Ausnahmen bis zum 9. Juni 2013 entsprochen.

Die United Internet AG hat den Empfehlungen des Kodex in der geltenden Fassung vom 13. Mai 2013 („Kodex 2013“) seit deren Wirksamwerden am 10. Juni 2013 entsprochen und plant, diesen Empfehlungen auch weiterhin zu entsprechen, jeweils bis auf folgende Ausnahmen:

  • Selbstbehalt bei D&O-Versicherungen (Kodex-Ziffer 3.8)

    Die D&O-Versicherung für den Aufsichtsrat sieht keinen Selbstbehalt vor. United Internet ist grundsätzlich nicht der Ansicht, dass sich Motivation und Verantwortung, mit der die Mitglieder des United-Internet-Aufsichtsrats ihre Aufgaben wahrnehmen, durch einen solchen Selbstbehalt verbessern.

  • Vertikaler Vergleich bei der Festlegung der Vorstandsvergütung (Ziffer 4.2.2)

    Die Empfehlung eines vertikalen Vergütungsvergleichs ist mit dem Kodex 2013 neu ausgesprochen worden. Der Aufsichtsrat hat bei seinen Vergütungsentscheidungen bislang einen Vergütungsvergleich mit der obersten Führungsebene des Konzerns mit herangezogen. Es ist dem Kodex 2013 nicht zu entnehmen, in wie weit die neue Empfehlung vom Aufsichtsrat Festlegung und Betrachtungen auch dann verlangen, wenn keine Änderungen an den Vereinbarungen zur Vorstandsvergütung erfolgen. Es wird deshalb höchstvorsorglich eine Abweichung von dieser Empfehlung erklärt.

  • Betragsmäßige Höchstgrenzen bei der Vorstandsvergütung (Ziffer 4.2.3 Abs. 2 Satz 6)

    Anders als der Kodex 2013 dies erstmals verlangt, sehen die Vereinbarungen über die Vergütung der Vorstandsmitglieder keine betragsmäßige Höchstgrenze für die Vergütung insgesamt vor. Da die Gesellschaft die Vergütungsvereinbarungen nicht einseitig ändern kann, weicht die Gesellschaft seit dem 10. Juni 2013 von dieser Kodex-Empfehlung ab

    Ferner sehen die Vergütungsvereinbarungen (Anstellungsverträge und Vereinbarungen über Stock Appreciation Rights) für variable Vergütungsbestandteile zwar Höchstgrenzen vor, die aber nicht betragsmäßig, sondern in Prozent eines festen Betrags ausgedrückt sind. Aus dem Kodex 2013 und seiner Begründung lässt sich nicht eindeutig herleiten, ob derartige im Ergebnis begrenzte Beträge, die aber in Prozent eines festen Betrags ausgedrückt sind, noch kodexkonform sind. Höchstvorsorglich erklärt die Gesellschaft insoweit eine Abweichung.

  • Ausschüsse (Ziffer 5.3)

    Der Aufsichtsrat hat keine Ausschüsse gebildet. Der Aufsichtsrat der United Internet AG besteht derzeit aus drei Mitgliedern und nimmt alle Aufgaben des Aufsichtsrats umfassend wahr, einschließlich der Überwachung des Rechnungslegungsprozesses, der Wirksamkeit des internen Kontrollsystems, des Risikomanagementsystems und des internen Revisionssystems, der Abschlussprüfung, hier insbesondere der Unabhängigkeit des Abschlussprüfers, der vom Abschlussprüfer zusätzlich erbrachten Leistungen, der Erteilung des Prüfungsauftrags an den Abschlussprüfer, der Bestimmung von Prüfungsschwerpunkten und der Honorarvereinbarung sowie der Compliance. Der Aufsichtsrat kann unter diesem Umständen nicht erkennen, wie die Effizienz seiner Arbeit durch Ausschüsse gesteigert würde.

  • Ziele für die Zusammensetzung des Aufsichtsrats (Ziffer 5.4.1)

    Der Aufsichtsrat hat keine konkreten Ziele für seine Zusammensetzung benannt. Die derzeit amtierenden Mitglieder des Aufsichtsrats sind bestellt bis zum Ablauf der Hauptversammlung, die über die Entlastung der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder für das Geschäftsjahr 2014 beschließen wird. Da konkrete neue Wahlvorschläge des Aufsichtsrats erst zur turnusmäßigen Neuwahl von Aufsichtsratsmitgliedern an die Hauptversammlung im Jahr 2015 erfolgen müssen, erscheint es nicht sachgerecht, ohne Kenntnis der bis dahin möglicherweise eintretenden Änderungen im regulatorischen Umfeld und den Marktbedingungen des Unternehmens, schon heute konkrete Ziele dafür zu formulieren. Der Aufsichtsrat wird die Entwicklungen genau beobachten und rechtzeitig vor der turnusgemäßen Neubesetzung des Aufsichtsrats zu den Empfehlungen des Kodex hinsichtlich der konkreten Ziele und deren Umsetzung im Rahmen von Vorschlägen des Aufsichtsrats an die Hauptversammlung sowie der Berichterstattung entscheiden.

  • Berücksichtigung des stellvertretenden Vorsitzes bei der Vergütung der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder (Ziffer 5.4.6 Abs. 1 Satz 2)

    Bei der Vergütung der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder wird der stellvertretende Vorsitz im Aufsichtsrat nicht berücksichtigt, da der stellvertretende Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende derzeit keine zusätzlichen Aufgaben wahrnimmt, die ihn gegenüber einem einfachen Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats stärker beanspruchen würden.

  • Ausrichtung der erfolgsorientierten Vergütung der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder auf eine nachhaltige Unternehmensentwicklung (Ziffer 5.4.6 Abs. 2 Satz 2)

    Die erfolgsorientierte Vergütung der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder ist möglicherweise nicht vollständig auf eine nachhaltige Unternehmensentwicklung ausgerichtet. Die Aufsichtsräte der United Internet AG erhalten, wie vom Kodex empfohlen, eine feste sowie eine erfolgsabhängige Vergütung. Die erfolgsabhängige Vergütung knüpft – bis zum 15. Juni 2012 vollumfänglich kodexkonform  – für einen Teil der variablen Vergütung an die Überschreitung einer Schwelle beim Konzernergebnis pro Aktie im Geschäftsjahr an. Für das Geschäftsjahr 2013 und folgende Geschäftsjahre wird für einen zusätzlichen Teil der variablen Vergütung an die prozentuale Abweichung von dem Konzernergebnis pro Aktie im Geschäftsjahr gegenüber dem Stand vor drei Jahren angeknüpft.

    Die United Internet AG hält einen erfolgsbezogenen Vergütungsbestandteil für angemessen, wenn er wie hier am tatsächlich ausgewiesenen Ergebnis pro Aktie im betreffenden Geschäftsjahr orientiert ist; zugleich ist dieses System nach dem Verständnis der United Internet AG auch auf eine nachhaltige Unternehmensentwicklung ausgerichtet, da eine Vergütung nur gezahlt wird, wenn eine Ergebnisschwelle überschritten wird. Darüber hinaus ist die variable Vergütung für die Aufsichtsräte jedenfalls hinsichtlich eines Teils selbst dann an die nachhaltige Unternehmensentwicklung geknüpft, wenn man darunter die Berechnung auf einer mehrjährigen Bemessungsgrundlage versteht. Die Organe sehen daher keinen unmittelbaren Handlungsbedarf für eine Änderung des in Befolgung des – bis zum 15. Juni 2012 geltenden – Kodex umgesetzten Vergütungssystems. Sie werden die Entwicklungen der Vergütungssystematik für Aufsichtsratsvergütungen beobachten und analysieren und gegebenenfalls ein neues Vergütungssystem vorschlagen.

  • Veröffentlichung der Berichte (Ziffer 7.1.2 Satz 4)

    United Internet hat den Bericht zum 1. Quartal 2013 aus organisatorischen, innerbetrieblichen Gründen am 21. Mai 2013 veröffentlicht. United Internet wird aus den gleichen Gründen – und wie im Finanzkalender 2014 bereits angekündigt – den Bericht zum 1. Quartal 2014 am 20. Mai 2014 sowie den Bericht zu den ersten 9 Monaten 2014 am 18. November 2014 veröffentlichen.

    Montabaur, den 5. März 2014

    Für den Vorstand
    Ralph Dommermuth

    Für den Aufsichtsrat
    Kurt Dobitsch