CG-DECLARATION 2013

Declaration of conformity by United Internet AG with regard to the recommendations of the German Corporate Governance Code in accordance with Sec. 161 German Stock Corporation Act (AktG)
In accordance with Sec. 161 German Stock Corporation Act (AktG), the Management Board and Supervisory Board of United Internet AG declare that:  

United Internet AG complied with the recommendations of the German Corporate Governance Code in the currently valid version dated May 15, 2012 (the "Code") since it came into force on June 15, 2012, and plans to continue to comply with all of these recommendations with the following exceptions:

  • Deductibles in the case of D&O insurance policies (section 3.8)

    The German Stock Corporation Act (AktG) stipulates that in D&O insurance policies for management board members an obligatory deductible equivalent to at least 10% of the loss up to at least 1.5 times the level of annual fixed salary is to be adopted (§93 of the German Stock Corporation Act [AktG]). Beyond the scope of the German Stock Corporation Act (AktG), the Code recommends that a similar deductible be agreed for the supervisory board in any D&O policy. 

    United Internet AG has adopted the legal requirements by amending the existing D&O insurance policies as of January 1, 2010 and has agreed a deductible for members of the Management Board. The Company has refrained from agreeing a deductible for Supervisory Board members. United Internet does not generally believe that the motivation and responsibility with which the members of United Internet's Supervisory Board conduct their duties will be affected by such a deductible.

  • Committees (section 5.3)

    The Code recommends that supervisory boards set up an audit committee which, in particular, should handle issues of accounting, risk management and compliance, the necessary independence required of the auditor, the issuing of the audit mandate to the auditor, the determination of auditing focal points and the fee agreement. In addition, the Code recommends that supervisory boards form a nomination committee composed exclusively of shareholder representatives, which proposes suitable candidates to the supervisory board for recommendation to the annual shareholders' meeting. 

    The Supervisory Board of United Internet AG currently consists of three members: In addition to their other duties, the members also deal as a group with the aforementioned topics. The Supervisory Board's rules of procedure state that committees should only be formed if there are more than three members.

  • Targets for the composition of the Supervisory Board (section 5.4.1)

    The Code recommends that supervisory board specify concrete objectives regarding their composition which, while considering the specifics of the enterprise, take into account the international activities of the enterprise, potential conflicts of interest, an age limit to be specified for supervisory board members and diversity, and since June 15, 2012 also the number of independent supervisory board members in the meaning of section 5.4.2. These concrete objectives should particularly provide for an adequate involvement of women. Recommendations by the Supervisory Board to the competent election bodies are to take these objectives into account. Supervisory boards' targets and the status of implementation are to be published in the corporate governance report.

    The current members of the Supervisory Board have been elected for the period ending with the Annual Shareholders' Meeting which adopts the resolution to release the Supervisory Board members from their responsibility for fiscal year 2014. As specific candidate proposals for the Supervisory Board do not have to be made until its scheduled re-election at the Annual Shareholders' Meeting in 2015, it does not appear appropriate to already formulate concrete objectives today without knowing the possible changes in the regulatory environment or the Company's market conditions. The Supervisory Board will carefully monitor developments and make a timely decision before the scheduled re-election of the Supervisory Board regarding the Code's recommendations on concrete objectives and their implementation as part of the Supervisory Board's proposals to the Annual Shareholders' Meeting, as well as reporting.

  • Compensation of Supervisory Board members (section 5.4.6)

    The Code recommends that the compensation of supervisory board members should also take into account the exercising of the chair and deputy chair positions in the supervisory board as well as the chair and membership of committees. 

    To the extent that the Supervisory Board addresses all topics on a plenary basis, and no committees have been formed, United Internet takes only the position of the Chair of the Supervisory Board into separate consideration. 

    The Code has recommended since June 15, 2012 that performance-based compensation of supervisory board members should be oriented to sustainable corporate development. United Internet has diverged from the Code since it was amended. 

    As recommended by the Code until June 15, 2012, the Supervisory Board members of United Internet AG received both fixed and performance-based compensation for the 2012 fiscal year. The performance-based compensation is connected with exceeding a threshold in terms of consolidated earnings per share in the fiscal year, in line with the Code until June 15, 2012. For the 2013 and following fiscal years, part of the variable compensation is measured in terms of the change in consolidated earnings per share in the given fiscal year compared with the status three years previously. The Company introduced these components by way of implementing a suggestion by the Code in the version of May 26, 2010. 

    United Internet AG regards a performance-based compensation component as appropriate if it is oriented to the actual reported earnings per share in the respective fiscal year. For this fiscal year and for the future, the total of variable compensation components in this compensation scheme is also connected to sustainable corporate development. As a consequence, the executive bodies identify no direct need for action for the compensation scheme which has been implemented in compliance with the version of the Code which was valid until June 15, 2012. They will observe and analyse developments in compensation schemes for supervisory board members, and propose a new compensation scheme at the end of the Annual Shareholders' Meeting if required.

  • Publication of reports (section 7.1.2)

    The Code recommends that interim reports are to be made publicly accessible within 45 days of the end of the reporting period.

    Due to organizational, internal reasons, United Internet published its interim report for the first six months of 2012 on November 22, 2012. As already announced in its 2013 financial calendar, United Internet will publish its interim report for the first quarter of 2013 on May 21, 2013.

    In addition, the Management and Supervisory boards continue to declare that United Internet AG has complied with the recommendations of the Code in the version of May 26, 2010 since the last declaration of compliance was issued on March 5, 2012 until June 14, 2012 with the exceptions that are mentioned therein.

    Montabaur, March 5, 2013

    For the Management Board 
    Ralph Dommermuth

    For the Supervisory Board
    Kurt Dobitsch

CG-ERKLÄRUNGEN 2013

Erklärung nach § 161 AktG zur Beachtung der Empfehlungen des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex bei der United Internet AG
Vorstand und Aufsichtrat der United Internet AG erklären gemäß § 161 Aktiengesetz:

Die United Internet AG hat den Empfehlungen des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex („Kodex“) in der Fassung vom 15. Mai 2012 („Kodex 2012“) seit der letzten Entsprechenserklärung vom 5. März 2013 mit den dort genannten Ausnahmen bis zum 9. Juni 2013 entsprochen.

Die United Internet AG hat den Empfehlungen des Kodex in der geltenden Fassung vom 13. Mai 2013 („Kodex 2013“) seit deren Wirksamwerden am 10. Juni 2013 entsprochen und plant, diesen Empfehlungen auch weiterhin zu entsprechen, jeweils bis auf folgende Ausnahmen:

  • Selbstbehalt bei D&O-Versicherungen (Kodex-Ziffer 3.8)

    Das Aktiengesetz (AktG) schreibt vor, dass in D&O-Versicherungen für Vorstände ein obligatorischer Selbstbehalt in Höhe von mindestens 10% des Schadens bis mindestens zur 1,5-fachen Höhe des Jahresfestgehalts zu vereinbaren ist (§93 AktG). Der Kodex empfiehlt über die Vorschriften des AktG hinaus, auch in einer D&O-Versicherung für den Aufsichtsrat einen entsprechenden Selbstbehalt zu vereinbaren.

    Die United Internet AG hat die Vorgaben des Gesetzgebers mit der Änderung der bestehenden D&O-Versicherungsverträge seit dem 1. Januar 2010 umgesetzt und einen Selbstbehalt für Vorstandsmitglieder vereinbart. Auf einen Selbstbehalt für die Aufsichtsratsmitglieder wurde verzichtet. United Internet ist grundsätzlich nicht der Ansicht, dass sich Motivation und Verantwortung, mit der die Mitglieder des United-Internet-Aufsichtsrats ihre Aufgaben wahrnehmen, durch einen solchen Selbstbehalt ändern.

  • Ausschüsse (Ziffer 5.3)

    Der Kodex empfiehlt, dass der Aufsichtsrat einen Prüfungsausschuss (Audit Committee) einrichten soll, der sich insbesondere mit Fragen der Rechnungslegung, des Risikomanagements und der Compliance, der erforderlichen Unabhängigkeit des Abschlussprüfers, der Erteilung des Prüfungsauftrags an den Abschlussprüfer, der Bestimmung von Prüfungsschwerpunkten und der Honorarvereinbarung befasst. Der Kodex empfiehlt darüber hinaus, dass der Aufsichtsrat einen Nominierungsausschuss bildet, der ausschließlich mit Vertretern der Anteilseigner besetzt ist und dem Aufsichtsrat für dessen Wahlvorschläge an die Hauptversammlung geeignete Kandidaten vorschlägt.

    Der Aufsichtsrat der United Internet AG besteht derzeit aus drei Mitgliedern. Die Mitglieder befassen sich in ihrer Gesamtheit – neben ihren sonstigen Pflichten – auch mit den genannten Themen. Die Geschäftsordnung des Aufsichtsrats sieht vor, Ausschüsse erst bei mehr als drei Aufsichtsratsmitgliedern einzurichten.

  • Ziele für die Zusammensetzung des Aufsichtsrats (Kodex-Ziffer 5.4.1)

    Der Kodex empfiehlt, dass der Aufsichtsrat für seine Zusammensetzung konkrete Ziele benennen soll, die unter Beachtung der unternehmensspezifischen Situation die internationale Tätigkeit des Unternehmens, potentielle Interessenskonflikte, eine festzulegende Altersgrenze für Aufsichtsratsmitglieder und Vielfalt (Diversity) berücksichtigen, und seit dem 15. Juni 2012 auch die Anzahl der unabhängigen Aufsichtsratsmitglieder im Sinn von Kodex-Ziffer 5.4.2. Diese konkreten Ziele sollen insbesondere eine angemessene Beteiligung von Frauen vorsehen. Vorschläge des Aufsichtsrats an die zuständigen Wahlgremien sollen diese Ziele berücksichtigen. Die Zielsetzung des Aufsichtsrats und der Stand der Umsetzung sollen im Corporate Governance Bericht veröffentlicht werden.

    Die derzeit amtierenden Mitglieder des Aufsichtsrats sind bestellt bis zum Ablauf der Hauptversammlung, die über die Entlastung der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder für das Geschäftsjahr 2014 beschließen wird. Da konkrete neue Wahlvorschläge des Aufsichtsrats erst mittelfristig zur turnusmäßigen Neuwahl von Aufsichtsratsmitgliedern an die Hauptversammlung im Jahr 2015 erfolgen müssen, erscheint es nicht sachgerecht, ohne Kenntnis der bis dahin möglicherweise eintretenden Änderungen im regulatorischen Umfeld und den Marktbedingungen des Unternehmens, schon heute konkrete Ziele dafür zu formulieren. Der Aufsichtsrat wird die Entwicklungen genau beobachten und rechtzeitig vor der turnusgemäßen Neubesetzung des Aufsichtsrats zu den Empfehlungen des Kodex hinsichtlich der konkreten Ziele und deren Umsetzung im Rahmen von Vorschlägen des Aufsichtsrats an die Hauptversammlung sowie der Berichterstattung entscheiden.

  • Vergütung der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder (Kodex-Ziffer 5.4.6)

    Der Kodex empfiehlt, dass bei der Vergütung der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder der Vorsitz und der stellvertretende Vorsitz im Aufsichtsrat, sowie der Vorsitz und die Mitgliedschaft in den Ausschüssen berücksichtigt werden.

    Solange der Aufsichtsrat alle Themen in seiner Gesamtheit behandelt und keine Ausschüsse gebildet werden, berücksichtigt United Internet nur den Vorsitz des Aufsichtsrats gesondert.

    Der Kodex empfiehlt seit dem 15. Juni 2012, dass eine erfolgsorientierte Vergütung der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder auf eine nachhaltige Unternehmensentwicklung ausgerichtet sein soll. Hier weicht die United Internet seit dieser Änderung des Kodex ab.

    Die Aufsichtsräte der United Internet AG erhielten, wie vom Kodex bis zum 15. Juni 2012 empfohlen, für das Geschäftsjahr 2012 eine feste sowie eine erfolgsabhängige Vergütung. Die erfolgsabhängige Vergütung knüpft – bis zum 15. Juni 2012 kodexkonform - an die Überschreitung einer Schwelle beim Konzernergebnis pro Aktie im Geschäftsjahr. Für das Geschäftsjahr 2013 und folgende Geschäftsjahre bemisst sich ein Teil der variablen Vergütung an der prozentualen Abweichung von dem Konzernergebnis pro Aktie im Geschäftsjahr gegenüber dem Stand vor drei Jahren. Diese Komponente hat die Gesellschaft in Umsetzung einer Anregung des Kodex in der Fassung vom 26. Mai 2010 eingeführt.

    Die United Internet AG hält einen erfolgsbezogenen Vergütungsbestandteil für angemessen, wenn er wie hier am tatsächlich ausgewiesenen Ergebnis pro Aktie im betreffenden Geschäftsjahr orientiert ist. Für das laufende Geschäftsjahr und die Zukunft ist die Summe der variablen Vergütungsbestandteile in diesem Vergütungssystem auch an die nachhaltige Unternehmensentwicklung geknüpft. Die Organe sehen daher keinen unmittelbaren Handlungsbedarf für das gerade erst in Befolgung des – bis zum 15. Juni 2012 geltenden - Kodex umgesetzte Vergütungssystem. Sie werden die Entwicklungen der Vergütungssystematik für Aufsichtsratsvergütungen beobachten und analysieren und gegebenenfalls im Anschluss der Hauptversammlung ein neues Vergütungssystem vorschlagen.

  • Veröffentlichung der Berichte (Kodex-Ziffer 7.1.2)

    Der Kodex empfiehlt, dass die Zwischenberichte binnen 45 Tage nach Ende des Berichtszeitraums öffentlich zugänglich sein sollen.

    United Internet hat den Bericht zu den ersten 9 Monaten 2012 aus organisatorischen, innerbetrieblichen Gründen am 22. November 2012 veröffentlicht. United Internet wird – wie im Finanzkalender 2013 bereits angekündigt – den Bericht zum 1. Quartal 2013 am 21. Mai 2013 veröffentlichen. 

    Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat erklären weiter, dass die United Internet AG den Empfehlungen des Kodex in der Fassung vom 26. Mai 2010 seit der letzten Entsprechenserklärung vom 5. März 2012 mit den dort genannten Ausnahmen bis zum 14. Juni 2012 entsprochen hat.

    Montabaur, den 5. März 2013

    Für den Vorstand
    Ralph Dommermuth

    Für den Aufsichtsrat
    Kurt Dobitsch